New Zealand National Burn Service

Home Page
Policies & Guidelines
National Burn Service (NBS) Group

Emergency Plan (Burn)
Patient & Family Information



Collaboration is paramount for the effective and seamless delivery of burn care services. The Regional Burn Units and the National Burn Centre (NBC) form the National Burn Service (NBS).

This approach ensures the equitable provision of high-quality, clinically effective services for all New Zealanders regardless of geographical location. This is achieved through communication between the four units, co-ordinated clinical research, annual audits, staff education and rotations, and the use of nationally consistent guidelines.  

The Regional Burn Units in New Zealand are located at:
bullet Middlemore Hospital, Auckland (co-located with the National Burn Centre)

Waikato Hospital, Hamilton


Hutt Hospital, Lower Hutt, Wellington


Christchurch Hospital, Christchurch


Locate a Regional Burn Unit:

(click on your region below)

Auckland and Northland - Counties Manukau District Health Board Hamilton - Waikato District Health Board Wellington - Hutt Valley District Health Board Christchurch - Canterbury District Health Board


Published:  19-Aug-2013  |  Enquiries:  National Burn Service Coordinator 

Counties Manukau Health

Link to Waikato District Health Board's internet site Link to Canterbury District Health Board's internet site Link to Hutt Valley District Health Board's internet siteNational Burn Service